Saint Basil’s Cathedral, Russia

After a very frustrating attempt at sketching a building last night, I decided to get rid of the ruler I was working with. This morning I went to the Virtual Sketchwalk Facebook group and chose a photo from Russia to draw. The group organises a virtual ‘walk’ where everyone can participate by sketching from photos uploaded by other members. From March – April 2021, we ‘visit’ Russia with all its architectural wonders.

I find buildings difficult to sketch but I wanted to practice so I grabbed my pen and started (sans ruler). I found it more enjoyable because it was less stressful.

As with any virtual sketch, I try to find out something about the subject…

watercolor sketch of saint basil's cathedral russia
Locally bought sketchbook (square), White Nights watercolours, Sailor Profit Fude Manen inked with De Atramentis Archive ink, Rosemary Brush Red Dot Series
quick facts i discovered (Source: wikipedia)
  • Saint Basil’s Cathedral is also known as Cathedral of Vasily the Blessed.
  •  The church has been part of the Moscow Kremlin and Red Square UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1990.
  • The cathedral has nine domes “and is shaped like the flame of a bonfire rising into the sky.”

I love the colour and domes of Saint Basil’s Cathedral. The design is evidently one of its unique characteristics. It must be a sight to behold in real life. I wish I can go someday. Such an amazing structure.

Have you been to Russia? If not, where would you like to bring your sketchbook and draw?


RELATED POSTS

CONNECT WITH ME

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close